• Advertisement
Evolution Aqua Food

How do you stop Koi eating the Plants?

General discussion about all things Koi

Postby Peteg » Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:43 pm

I've been keeping Koi for a few years but whenever I put a lily in the pond the fish bite pieces out of the leaves and the pond ends up resembling a jigsaw puzzle while the roots, stems and buds are left alone. I haven't put any other plants in the pond for this reason, also I did lose a number of fish after putting a second lily in the pond.

Can anyone tell me if this is normal or if the lily could have killed the fish? and would adding a number of other different plants stop them eating the lily?

Peteg

Postby debs1964 » Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:43 pm

Hi Pete

I have seen these plant pots that float on top of the water that you can put a lilly in .
DEBS

debs1964

Postby chaos » Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:43 pm

[quote]How do you stop Koi eating the Plants?[/quote]
Not the most helpfull response mate, but quite simply you don't put plants in with koi, no point, they'll just root them out. Only way i've seen to get plants in a koi pond is to hang them over the side
East of England Koi Show | East of England Garden Show
18th & 19th July 2015 - Huntingdon Racecourse, Cambridgeshire

Social Media - Koi Show On Facebook - Koi Show On Twitter
chaos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby debs1964 » Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:16 pm

[quote]ORIGINAL: chaos

[quote]How do you stop Koi eating the Plants?[/quote]
Not the most helpfull response mate, but quite simply you don't put plants in with koi, no point, they'll just root them out. Only way i've seen to get plants in a koi pond is to hang them over the side
[/quote]

Its really odd chaos, I have had my pond now 2 years, the lily I have in there for the 2 years the koi never touch, but if I buy a new plant/lily... its gone in a couple of days!!

Maybe they think its a new toy to play with .